

The Maryland Heritage Areas Authority

The Maryland Heritage Areas Authority (MHAA), an independent unit of state government, governs the Maryland Heritage Areas Program. MHAA is chaired by the current Secretary of the Department of Planning, Rebecca L. Flora. The 19-member body consists of nine state officials and ten community and association representatives. The Authority's interagency structure encourages state agencies to work together to pool funding resources, share staff expertise, and ensure a diverse array of interests and responsibilities are factored into program governance and activities.

Maryland State Cabinet Members (Voting Members)

Agency	Representative	Proxy Representative
Department of Planning	Secretary Rebecca L. Flora, Chair	
Department of Housing and Community Development	Secretary Jacob R. Day	Melissa Archer
Department of Transportation	Secretary Paul J. Wiedefeld	Dr. Julie Schablitsky
Department of Commerce	Secretary Kevin A. Anderson	Elizabeth Fitzsimmons
Department of Natural Resources	Secretary Josh Kurtz	Hilary Bell
Maryland Higher Education Commission	Acting Secretary Dr. Sanjay Rai	Geoffrey Newman
State Historic Preservation Officer	Elizabeth Hughes	

Maryland State Cabinet Members (Non-Voting Members)

Agency	Representative	Proxy Representative
Department of Agriculture	Secretary Kevin Atticks	Rowland Agbede
State Department of Education	Secretary Mohammed Choudhury	Peter Ramsey

Governor-appointed community and association members

Title	Representative	
Maryland Association of Counties	Pete Lesher, Chief Curator, Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum	
Maryland Municipal League	Nathan Brown, Mayor, Brunswick	
Maryland Greenways Commission	Natalie Chabot	
Maryland Tourism Development Board	Sandy Turner, Cecil County Tourism	
Recommended by the President of the Maryland Senate	Nicholas Redding, President and CEO, Preservation Maryland	
Recommended by the President of the Maryland Senate	Vacant	
Recommended by the Speaker of House of	Jonathan Hughes, Principal Deer Park Middle School,	
Delegates	Baltimore County Public Schools	
Recommended by the Speaker the House of Delegates	Marianne Harms	
Member of the public who has significant	Robert D. Campbell, Chief of Planning & Development,	
education or experience in historic preservation	National Park Service Chesapeake Office, Vice Chair	
Member of the public who has significant	Dr. Dennis Doster, Black History Program Manager, Prince	
education or experience in heritage tourism	George's County, Maryland	