Local Historic Preservation/Historic District Commissions

Map of Local Historic Preservation Commissions in Maryland

Hagerstown Historic District, Washington County

RockvilleGaithersburgLaytonsville New MarketFrederick City Port Deposit Map of Local Historic Preservation Commissions in Maryland Frostburg Cumberland Annapolis North Beach Calvert County Baltimore County Baltimore City Westminster Sykesville Carroll County Elkton Charlestown Chesapeake City Cecil County La Plata Charles County Cambridge East New Market Frederick County Harford County Bel Air Havre de Grace Howard County Chestertown Kent County Montgomery County Prince George's County Laurel St. Mary's County Princess Anne Easton St. Michael's Washington County Hagerstown Wicomico County Salisbury Snow Hill Berlin Denton Ridgely Talbot County

Certified Local Governments in Maryland

Allegany County

 

Cumberland Historic Preservation Commission

Kathy McKenney, Historic Planner
kmckenney@allconet.org
(301) 759-6431

P.O. Box 1702
Cumberland, MD 21502

Frostburg Historic District Commission

Richard Harris, Staff
rharris@allconet.org
(301-689-6000 x15

31 Broadway
P.O. Box 440
Frostburg, MD 21532

Anne Arundel County

 

Annapolis Historic Preservation Commission

Lisa Craig, Chief of Historic Preservation
lmcraig@annapolis.gov
(410) 263-7941

145 Gorman St.
Annapolis, MD 21401

 

Baltimore City

 

Baltimore City Commission for Historical and Architectural Preservation

Kathleen Kotarba, Executive Director
kathleen.kotarba@baltimorecity.gov
(410) 396-4866 x5

417 E. Fayette St., 8th Floor
Baltimore, MD 21202

 

Baltimore County

 

Baltimore County Landmarks Preservation Commission

Karin Brown
kebrown@baltimorecountymd.gov
(410) 887-3495

105 W. Chesapeake Avenue, Ste. 101 Towson, Maryland 21204

 

Calvert County

 

Calvert County Historic District Commission

Kirsti Uunila, Historic Preservation Planner
uunilak@co.cal.md.us
(410) 535-1600 x2504

150 Main St.
Prince Frederick, MD 20678

North Beach Historic Preservation Commission

Stacey Wilkerson, Town Clerk
swilkerson@ci.north-beach.md.us
(410) 257-9618

P.O. Box 99
North Beach, MD 20714

Caroline County

 

Denton Historical and Architectural Review Commission

Donna Todd
(410) 479-3625 x30

13 N. Third St.
Denton, MD 21629

Ridgely Historic District Commission

Joe Mangini
ridgely@dmv.com
(410) 634-2177

1 W. Railroad Ave.
P.O. Box 710
Ridgely, MD 21660

Carroll County

 

Carroll County Historic District Commission

Andrea Gearhart, Comprehensive Planner
agearhart@ccg.carr.org
(410) 386-2145

225 N. Center St.
Westminster, MD 21157

Sykesville Historic District Commission

Janice Perrault, Recording Secretary
jperrault@sykesville.net
(410) 795-9535

7547 Main St.
Sykesville, MD 21784

Westminster Historic District Commission

Steven Sager, CIty Planner
(410) 848-7967

54 West Main Street
Westminster, MD 21157

 

Cecil County

 

Cecil County Historic District Commission

Eric Senstromm, Director of Planning & Zoning
esennstrom@ccgov.org
(410) 996-5220

200 Chesapeake Boulevard
Elkton, MD 21921

Charlestown Historic District Commission

Rebecca Phillips
(410) 287-8262

P.O. Box 52
Charlestown, MD 21914

Chesapeake City Historic District Commission

Harriet Davis, Chair
(410) 885-2415

Town Hall
P.O. Box 205
Chesapeake City, MD 21915

Elkton Historic Architectural Review Committee

Jeanne Minner, Planning Director
(410) 398-4999
Jeanne.Minner@elkton.org

100 Railroad Ave.
Elkton, MD 21921

Port Deposit Historic Area Preservation Commission

Melissa Harbold, Chair
(410) 378-2121

Town Hall
64 South Main St.
Port Deposit, MD 21904

 

Charles County

 

Charles County Historic Preservation Commission

Cathy Thompson, Community Planning Program Manager
thompsca@charlescounty.org
(301) 396-5815v

Charles Co. Dept. of Planning and Growth Management
PO Box 2150
La Plata, MD 20646

La Plata Historic District Commission

Michelle Miner, Assistant Town Manager
mminer@townoflaplata.org
(301) 934-8421

P.O. Box 2268
305 Queen Anne St.
La Plata, MD 20646

 

Dorchester County

 

Cambridge Historic Preservation Commission

Anne Roane, City Planner
aroane@ci.cambridge.md.us
(410) 228-1955

705 Leonard Lane
P.O. Box 255
Cambridge, MD 21613

East New Market Historic District Commission

Patty Kiss, Town Clerk

P.O. Box 24
East New Market, MD 21631

 

 

Frederick County

 

Frederick (City) Historic Preservation Commission


Lisa Mroszczyk, Preservation Planner
lmroszczyk@cityoffrederick.com
(301) 600-6278

140 W. Patrick St.
Frederick, MD 21701



Frederick County Historic Preservation Commission

Denis Superczynski
dsuperczynski@frederickcountymd.gov
(301) 600-2958v

Winchester Hall
12 East Church St.
Frederick, MD 21701

 

 

New Market Historic Preservation Commission

Karen Dubin, Town Clerk
karen@townofnewmarket.org
(301) 865-5544

P.O. Box 27
New Market, MD 21774

 

Garrett County

 

No Historic Preservation Commissions

 

Harford County

 

Bel Air Historic Preservation Commission

Robert Fisher, Planner II
rfisher@belairmd.org
(410) 879-9500

705 Churchville Rd.
Bel Air, MD 21014

Harford County Historic Preservation Commission

Leah Mayer, Preservation Planner
lmmayer@harfordcountymd.gov
(410) 638-3103 x1369

220 S. Main St.
Bel Air, MD 21014

Havre de Grace Historic District Commission

Jay Bautz
jayb@havredegracemd.com
(410) 939-1800 x1120

711 Pennington Ave.
Havre de Grace, MD 21078

 

Howard County

 

Howard County Historic District Commission

Samantha Stoney, Preservation Planner
sstoney@howardcountymd.gov
(410) 313-4428

3430 Court House Drive
Ellicott City, MD 21043

 

Kent County

 

Chestertown Historic District Commission

Bill Ingersoll, Town Manager
office@chestertown.com
(410) 778-0500

118 N. Cross St.
Chestertown, MD 21620

Kent County Historic Preservation Commission

Carla Gerber, Planner
cgerber@kentgov.org
(410) 778-7474

400 High St.
Chestertown, MD 21260

Montgomery County

 

Gaithersburg Historic District Commission

Matt Bowling, Planner
mbowling@gaithersburgmd.gov
(301) 258-6330

31 Summit Ave.
Gaithersburg, MD 20877

Laytonsville Historic District Commission

(301) 869-0042

21607 Laytonsville Rd.
P.O. Box 5158
Laytonsville, MD 20882

Montgomery County Historic Preservation Commission

Scott Whipple, Supervisor of Historic Preservation Section
scott.whipple@mncppc-mc.org
(301) 563-3400

8787 Georgia Ave.
Silver Spring, MD 20910

Rockville Historic District Commission

Robin Ziek, Preservation Planner
rziek@rockvillemd.gov
(240) 314-8230

111 Maryland Ave.
Rockville, MD 20850

 

Prince George's County

 

Laurel Historic District Commission

Sunny Pritchard
spritchard@laurel.md.us
(301) 725-5300 x251

8103 Sandy Springs Road
Laurel, MD 20707

Prince George's County Historic Preservation Commission

Frederick Stachura, Planner Coordinator
frederick.stachura@ppd.mncppc.org
(301)780-8306

14741 Governor Oden Bowie Drive
Upper Marlboro, MD 20772

Queen Anne's County

 

No Historic Preservation Commissions

 

St. Mary's County

 

St. Mary's County Historic Preservation Commission

Grace Mary Brady, Preservation Planner
gracie.brady@co.saint-marys.md.us
(301) 475-4200 x1549

23150 Leonard Hall Drive
P.O. Box 653
Leonardtown, MD 20650

 

Somerset County

 

Princess Anne Historic District Commission

(410) 651-1818

Town Hall
11786 Beckford Ave.
Princess Anne, MD 21853

 

Talbot County

 

Easton Historic District Commission

Zach Smith, Planner
zachsmith@town-eastonmd.com
(410) 822-1943

P.O. Box 520
Easton, MD 21601

 

St. Michael's Historic District Commission

Kim Shellem, Zoning Clerk
kshellem@townofstmichaels.org
(410) 745-9535

Town Office
Box 206
St. Michael's, MD 20650

Oxford Historic District Commission

Lillian Lord
(410) 226-5122
townoffice@goeaston.net

P.O. Box 339
Oxford, MD 21654

Talbot County Historic Preservation Commission

Martin Sokolich, Planner
msokolich@talbgov.org
(410) 770-8032

28712 Glebe Rd, Suite 2
Easton, MD 21601

Washington County

 

Hagerstown Historic District Commission

Stephen Bockmiller, Zoning Administrator
sbockmiller@hagerstownmd.org
(301) 739-8577 x138

1. E. Franklin St.
Hagerstown, MD 21740

Washington County Historic Preservation Commission

Steven Goodrich, Chief Planner
sgoodrich@washco-md.net
(240) 313-2430

80 W. Baltimore St.
Hagerstown, MD 21740

Wicomico County

 

Salisbury Historic District Commission

Tom Stevenson, Director of Neighborhood Services
tstevenson@ci.salisbury.md.us
(410) 341-9550

501B E. Church St.
Salisbury, MD  21804

Wicomico County Historic District Commission

Gloria Smith, Planner
gsmith@wicomicocounty.org
(410) 548-4862

Government Office Building, Room 203
P.O. Box 870
Salisbury, MD 21803

Worcester County

 

Berlin Historic District Commission

Chuck Ward, Planning Director
cward@townofberlinmd.com
(410) 641-2770

Town Hall
10 William St.
Berlin, MD 21811

Snow Hill Historic District Commission

Karen Hautman, Planner
hautman@snowhillmd.com
(410) 632-2080

103 Bank St.
Snow Hill, MD 21863


 

This page updated: March 14, 2014