Skip to Main Content

Certified Local Governments

Chestertown National Historic Landmark District

Most preservation activity takes place at the local level—for example, when a neighborhood seeks local designation to protect community character, or when a local advocacy group works with a city government and private developers to find the best solution for a beloved landmark building. The Certified Local Government program recognizes counties and municipalities that have made a special commitment to preservation. This commitment includes, but is not limited to, establishing a qualified historic preservation commission to designate and review historic properties.

Maryland's CLG program is administered by the National Park Service and the Maryland Historical Trust. CLG programs exist in every state and are supported through the federal Historic Preservation Fund. MHT awards 10% of its annual allocation from the Historic Preservation Fund to CLG projects and educational opportunities each year, with applications available in January or February.

MHT also partners with the Maryland Association of Historic District Commissions (MAHDC) to provide training programs for CLGs and other local governments.

Maryland's Certified Local Governments
(Click on link below to go to their web site)