Skip to Main Content

Maryland's National Register Properties



Photo credit: William J. Pencek, 02/1976
Krug Iron Works
Inventory No.: B-1038
Date Listed: 4/29/1982
Location: 415 W. Saratoga Street, Baltimore, Baltimore City
Category: Building
Period/Date of Construction: 1810; c.1880
Description: The G. Krug Iron Works is located at 415 West Saratoga Street, in the heart of downtown Baltimore. The lot on which the business is located is bounded by Jasper Street on the east, by Welsh Alley on the west, and a combination access road/parking area to the south. The front façade of the building fronts West Saratoga Street and rises in configuration slightly from east to west. The present building complex which now houses the company office and actual operating ironworks consists of three sections: 1) a two-story tall gable-roofed building dating from the first quarter of the 19th century, which houses the earliest shop, located at the northeast corner of the lot; 2) a four-story tall Victorian building which houses a business office on the first floor and storage rooms on the upper floors, situated on the northwest corner of the lot; and 3) a three-story tall shed-roofed addition dating from 1870-1880, located at the southeast corner of the lot, which houses the expanded shop, and a smaller two-story shed-roofed addition, which also houses portions of the expanded shop facility. Significance: The Krug Iron Works is significant as a unique survival of over a century and a half of metalworking in Baltimore and for its historic role as manufacturer of much of the city’s decorative ironwork. Begun in 1810 as a blacksmith’s shop, it has occupied the same site and a similar scale despite dramatic technological and organizational change in industry. The quality and variety of its iron grills, railings, and other architectural elements may be seen on buildings throughout the city.

 

Return to the National Register Search page