Skip to Main Content

Maryland's National Register Properties

Photo credit: AMH, 03/1975
Bunker Hill
Inventory No.: AA-177, AA-177A
Date Listed: 10/11/1984
Location: 1371 Millersville Road , Millersville Road , Millersville, Anne Arundel County
Category: Building
Period/Date of Construction: c. 1820, c. 1870, c. 1885
Description: Bunker Hill includes a large, eclectic, frame dwelling which reflects several periods of growth. The final composition embodies the late-19th century Victorian Picturesque, A.J. Downing "cottage" style of architecture. The main block, which contains the principal entrance, was constructed c. 1820, and is situated at the northeast end of the house. It was a 2-story, 3 bay by 1 bay dwelling with interior gable end chimneys. The projecting, steeply pitched cross-gable entrance, the cupola, and one bay at the northeast end were added. The kitchen at the southwest end also dates to c. 1820, and was joined to the main block c. 1885 with the addition of the central 3 bays of the house, at which time the kitchen roof was raised and dormers added, and one bay was added to the southeast gable end. Original 9/6 windows are extant at the first story, on the northwest gable end of the kitchen. The original wide 6-panel door with 4-pane transom is on the southwest elevation. A large 2-story, gable-roofed, 2 bay by 1 bay wing was added to the rear c. 1870. A 2-story gable-roofed porch with an enclosed 2nd story was added to the southwest elevation of the wing in the early 20th century. A one-story Tuscan-columned Colonial Revival hip-roofed porch runs across the facade of the dwelling and wraps around the southwest elevation of the kitchen. This replaces a former Stick Style porch. A one-story flat roofed, screened porch with Stick Style posts fills the rear, southwest elevation of the house. The house rests on a brick foundation, and is partly covered with beaded board siding, and partly with German siding. The roof is covered with wood shingles, and there are five brick chimneys. One marks the southwest end of the main block where it meets the c. 1885 wing, one on the southwest elevation of that wing where it joins the kitchen, an exterior gable end chimney on the northwest elevation of the kitchen, and flush chimneys on the southeast elevation of the main block and on the southwest elevation of the c. 1900 wing. Both flush chimneys have exposed chimney backs. Windows vary in each section of the house, but have louvered shutters. The principal entrance is located in the projecting bay of the main block, and is composed of a paneled door with sidelights. Several 19th century outbuildings and a caretaker's house are associated with this site. The outbuildings are frame and include a smokehouse/dairy, root cellar, tool house, chicken house, slave quarter, carriage house, ice house, pumphouse, barn, and corncrib. All, except the pumphouse, extend in a southwest direction from the main house and face northwest, giving the appearance of a "street" of buildings, which is how it is referred to by the owners. The southwest end of the "street" is marked by the caretaker's house, which also faces northwest. Significance: Bunker Hill is primarily significant for its architecture. The main dwelling, a large eclectic frame structure, constructed in several stages, embodies the Victorian Picturesque, A.J. Downing "Cottage" style in its final composition. The eleven outbuildings associated with the site are significant for their variety and architectural integrity. The survival of these structures is extraordinary. Bunker Hill is also significant for its association with the Baldwin family, prominent Anne Arundel County and Baltimore City businessmen, politicians, and philanthropists. Several members of the family, born at Bunker Hill, became partners in the Baltimore and New York City cotton commission firm of Woodward, Baldwin & Company. Formed in 1828, it is one of the oldest textile commission firms still in operation.


Return to the National Register Search page