Skip to Main Content

MHT Project Review Staff

Updated Jan 2021

MHT's Project Review and Compliance Unit, comprised of a team of archaeologists and architectural historians, handles the review of projects and provide a wide range of technical assistance to program clients. See the lists below for staff contact information and assignments by key federal and state agency programs, broad project types and geographic region.


Staff Contact Information

Name Phone Email
Beth Cole, Administrator 410-697-9541 beth.cole@maryland.gov
Amanda Apple, Preservation Officer 410-697-9533 amanda.apple@maryland.gov
Dixie Henry, Preservation Officer 410-697-9553 dixie.henry@maryland.gov
Becky Roman, Preservation Officer 410-697-9587 becky.roman@maryland.gov
Tim Tamburrino, Preservation Officer/Transportation Reviewer 410-697-9589 tim.tamburrino@maryland.gov
Troy Nowak, Assistant State Underwater Archaeologist 410-697-9577 troy.nowak@maryland.gov

Reviewer Assignments by Project Type

Project Type Architectural Historian Archaeologist
Agriculture
(Farms, livestock, soil conservation)
Becky Roman Dixie Henry
Airports Amanda Apple Beth Cole
Communications
(Cell towers, public safety towers)
Becky Roman Beth Cole
Corps of Engineers/MDE joint permits
Shoreline/water/dredging actions   Troy Nowak
COE/MDE – All other projects Becky Roman Dixie Henry
Defense/Military/Homeland Security/Veterans
(Military installations, testing, security grants,armories, veterans' facilities)
Air Force, Army, Maryland Military, National Guard Bureau Becky Roman Dixie Henry
Homeland Security, Marines, Navy, National Security Administration, Veterans Administration Amanda Apple Beth Cole
Education
Public Schools
Amanda Apple Dixie Henry
Education
Colleges/Universities
Amanda Apple Beth Cole
Energy/Utilities
(Transmission lines, power plants, electric/gas/nuclear/wind/solar facilities)
Becky Roman Dixie Henry
Extraction/Industry/Waste
(Mining, timbering, landfills)
Becky Roman Dixie Henry
Government Facilities
(Courthouses, post offices, municipal buildings, excess properties)
State owned (DGS) Becky Roman Beth Cole
Federally owned (GSA) Amanda Apple Beth Cole
Health Care
(Hospitals, mental health facilities, research facilities)
Becky Roman Dixie Henry
Housing/Community & Economic Development/Revitalization/Bond Bill projects
(Rehabilitation, new construction, façade grants, community legacy, revitalization, and bond bill funded activities)
Divided by County jurisdiction:    
Anne Arundel, Baltimore City, Baltimore County, Calvert, Carroll, Charles, Frederick, Howard, Montgomery, Prince George's, St. Mary's, Washington Amanda Apple Beth Cole
Allegany, Caroline, Cecil, Dorchester, Garrett, Harford, Kent, Queen Anne’s, Somerset, Talbot, Wicomico, Worcester Becky Roman Beth Cole
Parks and Recreation
(Public park facilities, playgrounds, sports complexes, grants for park projects)
State and Local Parks (DNR, POS, etc.) Amanda Apple Dixie Henry
Federal Parks (NPS) Becky Roman Beth Cole
Public Safety and Corrections
(Police, correctional facilities, fire stations)
Becky Roman Dixie Henry
Sewer and Water
(Water and wastewater treatment plants, distribution and collection lines)
Becky Roman Beth Cole
Transportation
(Roads, bridges, rail, transit, park & ride lots, transportation enhancement funded projects)
Tim Tamburrino Beth Cole
Wildlife and Conservation
(Wildlife refuges, habitat restoration, wetlands enhancement, acquisition and easements for conservation purposes)
Amanda Apple Dixie Henry